COVID-19 info for locals & visitors Learn More


The Board of Directors for Discover Halifax is composed of fifteen (15) members: eight (8) members from the general membership; two (2) prescribed by Bylaw 5.05 and five (5) appointed Directors including:

(i)     The Mayor of Halifax Regional Municipality or a designate;

(ii)    An individual appointed by the Council of the Halifax Regional Municipality

(iii)   The Chief Administrative Officer of the Halifax Regional Municipality, or a designate;

(iv)   The President of the Hotel Association of Nova Scotia, or a designate;

(v)    The Chief Executive Officer of the Nova Scotia Tourism Agency or a designate

Bylaw 5.05: Two (2) positions on the Board of Directors shall be elected from members who provide accommodation services outside the current districts 7 and 8 of the Halifax Regional Municipality.  One (1) position is reserved for a facility that has between 20 and 99 rooms and one (1) position is reserved for a facility that has 20+ rooms.

2020-2021 Discover Halifax Board of Directors

Jennifer Angel, Chair of the Board

President & Chief Executive Officer, Develop Nova Scotia


Board Committee(s): Executive

Jeff Ransome, Past-Chair of the Board

General Manager, Halifax Marriott Harbourfront


Board Committee(s): Executive and Governance

David Clark, Secretary of the Board

General Manager, Atlantica Hotel Halifax


Board Committee(s): Executive

Paul Brigley, Treasurer of the Board

Vice President of Finance & Chief Financial Officer, Halifax International Airport Authority


Board Committee(s): Executive and Finance, Audit & Risk

Ross Jefferson, Ex Officio

President & Chief Executive Officer, Discover Halifax


Board Committee(s): Executive, Governance and Finance, Audit & Risk

Denise Schofield

Director of Parks & Recreation, Halifax

Doug Townsend

Co-Owner, The Canteen on Portland


Board Committee(s): Governance

Ina Rivard

Owner/Operator, Atlantic Splash Adventure

Kathy Perrier

General Manager, Holiday Inn Express & Suites Halifax-Bedford


Board Committee(s): Finance, Audit & Risk

Ken Bagnell

President, Canadian Sport Centre Atlantic

Lisa Blackburn

Deputy Mayor, Halifax

Megan Delaney

General Manager, Cambridge Suites Hotel Halifax

Michele Saran

Chief Executive Officer, Tourism Nova Scotia

Mike Savage

Mayor, Halifax

Ryan Murphy

President/Owner, Murphy’s Camping on the Ocean

Susan Wilson

Director of Human Resources, The Sutton Place Hotel Halifax

Board Committee(s): Governance